MUSC Medical Links Charleston Links Archives Medical Educator Speakers Bureau Seminars and Events Research Studies Research Grants Catalyst PDF File Community Happenings Campus News

Return to Main Menu

2008 GME residency awards announced

Department of Emergency Medicine
Resident of the Year—Andrew Ross, M.D.
Platinum Podium Award—Diann Krywko, M.D.
Golden Apple Award—Sam Kini, M.D.

Department of Internal Medicine
Intern of the Year—Courtney Cave, M.D.
Residents of the Year—Lucas Blanton, M.D. and Brock Harper, M.D.,
Fellow of the Year—Jason Goebel, M.D.
Attending of the Year—Adam Brzezinski, M.D.
Division of the Year—General Internal Medicine,
100 Percent Grand Rounds Attendance—Brandon Craft, M.D., Peter Netzler, M.D., B.J. Smith, M.D., Laine Gawthrop, M.D.
Inpatient Medicine Resident of the Year—Brandon Craft, M.D.
Outpatient Medicine Resident of the Year—Jodi Goldsberry, M.D.

Department of Neurosciences, Division of Neurology
J. Neil Marshall Student Teaching Award—Ashok V. Patel, M.D., resident and Pierre Giglio, M.D., faculty
Resident’s Excellence Award—David Strickler, M.D., faculty teaching; David L. Bachman, M.D., faculty role model of the year; Pierre Giglio, M.D., most compassionate faculty; Jonathan Edwards, M.D., best new faculty; and Jenny Lee, neurophysiology technician of the year.

Department of OB/GYN

(Chief residents)
Jay Marion Simms Award and Competition Award—Derrick J. Barnes, M.D.
J. Richard Sosnowski Award and Lawrence L. Hester Junior Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement—Jamie Lynn Fulfer, M.D.
Prenatal Wellness Center Award and Outstanding Medical Student Education Award—Robert M. Marino, M.D.
Women's Health Resarch Foundation Award and Minimally Invasive Surgery Award—Melissa Williams Pearce, M.D.
Southeastern Fertility Center Stork Award given by the Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility Division and H. Oliver Williamson Award—Heidi Michelle Sapp, M.D.

Department of Ophthalmology
Program Director’s Award—Justin Arbuckle, M.D.
Annual Vallotton Award for Best OKAP Scores—Rebecca Manning, M.D.
Annual Helma Award for Best Resident Presentation—Justin Arbuckle, M.D.
The Pierre Gautier Jenkins Award (favorite teacher for the year)—Esther Bowie, M.D. Ophthalmic Technician of the Year—Christine Miley
Mentorship—Elizabeth Sharpe, M.D., and John Weaver, M.D., received plaques for exceptional mentorship and patience.

Department of Pathology
House Staff Award for Anatomic Pathology Faculty—Cynthia A. Welsh, M.D.
House Staff Award for Clinical Pathology Faculty—Frederick S. Nolte, Ph.D.
Best Resident GME—Linsheng Zhang, M.D., Ph.D.

Department of Psychiatry, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Outstanding Clinical Teaching by a Resident in the Psychiatry Selective—Rabiya Hasan, M.D., Golden Apple; Daniel Shaun Baer, M.D., Circle of Excellence Award; and Kirk Allen Meekins, M.D., Circle of Excellence Award.
Outstanding Clinical Teaching by a Resident in the Psychiatry Elective
Rabiya Hasan, M.D., Circle of Excellence Award.

Department of General Surgery
Paul H. O’Brien, M.D., Resident Teaching Award—T. Karl Byrne, M.D.
Max S. Rittenbury, M.D. Interns of the Year Award—Juozas A. Zavadzkas, M.D. and Craig L. Selander, M.D.
Student Award for Excellence in Resident Teaching—Daniel J. Womac, M.D.
First Annual MUSC Department of Surgery Resident Recognition Day Award—Craig Blum, M.D., first place; Dennis Schimpf, M.D., second place and John Barbour, M.D., third place.

Friday, July 4, 2008
Catalyst Online is published weekly, updated as needed and improved from time to time by the MUSC Office of Public Relations for the faculty, employees and students of the Medical University of South Carolina. Catalyst Online editor, Kim Draughn, can be reached at 792-4107 or by email, Editorial copy can be submitted to Catalyst Online and to The Catalyst in print by fax, 792-6723, or by email to To place an ad in The Catalyst hardcopy, call Island Publications at 849-1778, ext. 201.