MUSC The Catalyst
MUSC arial view


MUSCMedical LinksCharleston LinksArchivesCatalyst AdvertisersSeminars and EventsResearch StudiesPublic RelationsResearch GrantsCatalyst PDF FileMUSC home pageCommunity HappeningsCampus NewsApplause

MUSCMedical LinksCharleston LinksArchivesCatalyst AdvertisersSeminars and EventsResearch StudiesPublic RelationsResearch GrantsMUSC home pageCommunity HappeningsCampus NewsApplause


College of Medicine
Students honor staff with awards

by Jerry Reves, M.D.
Dean, College of Medicine
I am pleased to announce that the Golden Apples were awarded Dec. 2 by our College of Medicine (COM) students to teachers and others who assist our students along the way to becoming physicians. It was a special honor for me at the ceremony to give the Dr. Robert Walton Lecture, and a link to the presentation can be found at
A select few of our faculty, residents and staff have been nominated for Golden Apples;  and to be nominated by our students is very special. To actually receive the award is an accomplishment that demonstrates how effective and admired our faculty, residents and staff are by the students they serve in their respective capacities. I was particularly struck by the response of each recipient when their name was called—without exception it was clearly a welcome surprise. Most recipients could not hold back their sincere responses of both elation and tears, often choking on words to be acknowledged for what is their passion—helping our students learn and make their way through medical school. 
The nominees in each category are listed below and the winners of the Golden Apple have an asterisk by their name. Some of these winners are almost perennial, meaning they have won multiple Golden Apples, and two such are Gabe Virella (11 times) and Adam Brzezinski (seven times). Teaching is like everything else we do well—it requires hard work, planning and dedication.
The people listed below were  acknowledged for their commitment and attainment of excellence in this crucially important area. 

Nominees, winners of Golden Apple

First Year Class
Faculty Award
Dr. Francis Spinale*, Department of Surgery; Dr. Debra Hazen-Martin*, Pathology & Lab Medicine; Dr. Matthew McEvoy, Anesthesiology & Periop Medicine; Dr. Paul McDermott, Medicine, Division of Cardiology

Special Appreciation
Dr. Alice Libet, Counseling & Psychological Services; Dr. Chris Pelic*, Associate Dean for Students; Dr. Leonardo Bonilha, Neurology; Leslie Fowler, Fundamentals of Patient Care Coordinator; Dr. Lynn Manfred, Associate Dean for Curriculum & Evaluation

Second Year Class
Faculty Award
Dr. Gabriel Virella*, Microbiology & Immunology; Dr. Nicholas Batalis,Pathology & Lab Medicine

Special Appreciation
Artice Smith, COM Dean’s Office; Sandy Nelson*, Pathology & Lab Medicine; Dr. Jason Zauls, Radiology

Third and Fourth Year Classes
Faculty Award
Dr. Adam Brzezinski*, Medicine; Dr. Scott Sullivan, OB/GYN; Dr. Thomas Smith, Center for Academic Excellence; Dr. Eric Larson, Medicine, Emergency Medicine; Dr. Diann Krywko, Medicine, Emergency Medicine; Dr. Pierre Giglio, Neurosciences; Dr. Joseph Schoepf, Radiology; Dr. Stephen Schabel, Radiology; Dr. Angela Dempsey, OB/GYN

House Staff Award
Dr. Erin Swanson*, Resident, OB/GYN; Dr. Jennifer Franklin, Resident, Emergency Medicine; Dr. Chelsea Rainwater, Resident, Medicine; Dr. Leonardo Bonilha, Resident, Neurology; Dr. Robert Bartlett, Resident, Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine

Special Appreciation
Dr. Christopher Pelic, Associate Dean for Students; Sandy Nelson, Pathology & Lab Medicine; Dr. Jeffrey Wong, Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education; Beverly Pinder*, College of Medicine Dean’s Office; Suzanne Long, Pediatrics

Friday, Dec. 11, 2009

The Catalyst Online is published weekly by the MUSC Office of Public Relations for the faculty, employees and students of the Medical University of South Carolina. The Catalyst Online editor, Kim Draughn, can be reached at 792-4107 or by email, Editorial copy can be submitted to The Catalyst Online and to The Catalyst in print by fax, 792-6723, or by email to To place an ad in The Catalyst hardcopy, call Island Publications at 849-1778, ext. 201.