MUSC The Catalyst
MUSC arial view


MUSCMedical LinksCharleston LinksArchivesCatalyst AdvertisersSeminars and EventsResearch StudiesPublic RelationsResearch GrantsCatalyst PDF FileMUSC home pageCommunity HappeningsCampus NewsApplause

MUSCMedical LinksCharleston LinksArchivesCatalyst AdvertisersSeminars and EventsResearch StudiesPublic RelationsResearch GrantsMUSC home pageCommunity HappeningsCampus NewsApplause


2009 GME residency awards announced

by Leah Hyatt
Public Relations
Emergency Medicine
Intern of the Year—Charlie Andrews, M.D.; Academic Achievement Award—Andrew Ross, M.D.; MUSC Medical Student Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award—Christanne Hoffman; Platinum Podium Award—Diann Krywko, M.D.; Golden Apple Award—Simon Watson, M.D.; Golden Orange Award—Christian Minshall, M.D.; The Little People Award—Olivia Titus, M.D., and Scott Russell, M.D.; National Teaching Award from the American College of Emergency Physicians—Sam Kini, M.D.; Residency Coordinator of the Year from the Emergency Medicine Residents’ Association—Lindy Carter; Teacher of the Month—Jeff Bush, M.D., Christina L. Bourne, M.D., Bonnie Dellinger, M.D., and Andrew Ross, M.D.; Teacher of the Year Award—Adner Pazo, M.D.

Emergency Medicine (EM) Residency Award recipients Ashley Kuklentz, MUSC fourth year student; Dr. Jamie Kuo, EM Chief Resident; Lindy Carter, EM residency coordinator; Dr. Andrew Ross, EM Chief Resident; and Dr. Steve Saef, EM Assistant Professor, were presented with their awards at a May 15 reception.

Gastroenterology and Hepatology

American Gastroenterology Association (AGA) “Investing in the Future: Clinical Research in Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)” Travel Award—Donald Garrow, M.D.; American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) North American Conference of GI Fellows Travel Award—Donald Garrow, M.D.; AGA Institute Clinical Congress of GI &Hepatology Travel Award—Donald Garrow, M.D.; ACG National Fellows’ Forum Travel Award—Donald Garrow, M.D.; IBD Mentoring Program, Proctor and Gamble Pharmaceuticals Travel Award—Donald Garrow, M.D.; GI & Hepatology: “Advances and Controversies” Travel Award—Donald Garrow, M.D.; ACG National Meeting Public Relations Committee: Press-Released Abstracts—Donald Garrow, M.D.

General Surgery
Paul H. O’Brien, M.D., Resident Teaching Award—Charles D. Smith, M.D.; Dabney R. Yarbrough III, M.D., Research Award—Jean M. Ruddy, M.D.; Max S. Rittenbury, M.D. Intern of the Year Award—Tom P. Theruvath, M.D., and Shaina R. Eckhouse, M.D.

Internal Medicine
Michael E. Assey, M.D., Teaching Award—Benjamin Clyburn, M.D.; Fellow of the Year—Stacey L. Vallejo, M.D., and Ted Steward, D.O.; Division of the Year—General Internal Medicine; Resident of the Year—Andre R. Holmes, M.D.; Intern of the Year—Sarah L. Allen, M.D.; Departing Chief Residents—Deborah DeWaay, M.D., and Laurel Bailey, M.D., received framed certificates of appreciation signed by the residents.

Best Case Presentation—Vibhor Krishna, M.D.; Most Promising New Finding—Victoria Nwosu, M.D.; Best Neurology Presentation—Holly Skinner, D.O.; Best Neurosurgery Presentation—Sabino D’Agostino, D.O.; Best in Show—Leonardo Bonilha, M.D.; Best Resident Mentor—Feng Liu, M.D.; Best New Faculty—Christo Lazaridis, M.D.; Best Faculty Role Models—Paul B. Pritchard III, M.D., and Pieree Giglio, M.D.; Best Faculty Research Mentor—Jonathan Edwards, M.D.; Best Faculty Teaching Award—Jonathan Edwards, M.D.; Best Neurological Examination Teaching Award—Ken Nozaki, M.D.

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Maternal-Fetal Medicine Graduating Fellow Recognition— Charles Rittenberg, M.D.; Administrative Chief Resident Recognition—Jennie Yoost, M.D.; L.L. Hester Jr. Award for Academic Achievement—Jennie Yoost, M.D.; J. Marion Sims Award for Surgical Excellence—Dené Wrenn, M.D.; The H. Oliver Williamson Award for Excellence in Obstetrics and Gynecology— Ashley Ryan, M.D.; J. Richard Sosnowski Award for Outstanding Achievement in Obstetrics and Humanism—Elizabeth Gagliardi, M.D.; Minimally Invasive Surgery Award—Jennie Yoost, M.D.; Southeastern Fertility Stork Award—Dené Wrenn, M.D.

The Pierre Gautier Jenkins Award (Teacher of the Year)—Ron Teed, M.D.; Ophthalmic Technician of the Year—Linda Mayrand; Annual M. Edward Wilson Award—Justin Arbuckle, M.D.; William W. Vallotton Award—Rebecca Manning, M.D.; Helma Award—Jay Biber, M.D.; Mentorship—Paul Grant, M.D., received a special award from the residents in recognition of his outstanding service to their education

Orthopaedic Surgery
Golden Apple Award—Gregory Colbath, M.D.; Teacher of the Month—Harris Slone, M.D., Zeke Walton, M.D., Marcus Briones, M.D., and Bennett Grimm, M.D.; Highest Ortho. In Training Exam Score—Bennett Grimm, M.D.; Alumnus of the Year—David L. Morrow; Outstanding Basic Science Award—Harvinder S. Bhatti, M.D.; Outstanding Clinical Science Award—Matthew B. Massey, M.D.; 7th Annual AOA-OREF Resident Leadership Nominee—Marshall Martin, M.D.;John A. Siegling Teaching Award—James F. Mooney II, M.D.

ENT Temporal Bone Dissection Award 1st Place—John Goddard, M.D.; ENT Temporal Bone Dissection Award 2nd Place—Steven Andreoli, M.D.

House Staff Award for Anatomic Pathology Faculty—Jack Yang, M.D.; House Staff Award for Clinical Pathology Faculty—Jerry Squires, M.D.; Best Resident GME—Caroline Massey, M.D.; The American Association of Clinical Chemistry Student Travel Grant Award—Deborah Spencer, M.D.; The Society for Pediatric Pathology Resident Recruitment Award—Deborah Spencer, M.D.; MUSC College of Medicine Teacher of the Month—Paul Eberts, M.D.; Donald West King One-Month Fellowship Program Award in Soft Tissue Pathology at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology—Mokhtar Desouki, M.D.; Best Abstract of Interest to Industry at the American Association of Clinical Chemistry annual meeting—David Holloman, M.D.

Friday, July 3, 2009

The Catalyst Online is published weekly by the MUSC Office of Public Relations for the faculty, employees and students of the Medical University of South Carolina. The Catalyst Online editor, Kim Draughn, can be reached at 792-4107 or by email, Editorial copy can be submitted to The Catalyst Online and to The Catalyst in print by fax, 792-6723, or by email to To place an ad in The Catalyst hardcopy, call Island Publications at 849-1778, ext. 201.